Laoag Travel Information

Laoag City is a 2nd class city in the province of Ilocos Norte, Philippines. It is the capital city of Ilocos Norte, and the province's political, commercial, and industrial hub. The municipalities of San Nicolas, Paoay, Sarrat, Vintar, and Bacarra form its boundaries. The foothills of the Cordillera Central mountain range to the east, and the South China Sea to the west are its physical boundaries.

The town experiences the prevailing monsoon climate of Northern Luzon, characterized by a dry season from November to April and a wet season from May to October, occasionally visited by powerful typhoons. On July 13, 2006, the whole city of Laoag is in state of calamity due to the typhoon Florita.

According to the 2000 census, it has a population of 94,466 people in 19,751 households.

HISTORY : Juan De Salcedo afetr occupying the town settlement of Vigan, pressed further north to Laoag which at that time was also a center of population. Located at "Ermita Hill" at the northern bank of the Padsan River, Laoag was already a flourishing center of trade with the Japanese and Chinese. The Augustinian missionaries established the Laoag parish in 1580 with St. William, the Hermit as its Patron Saint. Laoag eventually became the capital of Ilocos Norte.

Ilocos Norte was created by virtue of the Spanish Royal Decree on February 2,1818. At that time, the province occupied the coastal plain bordering the China Sea and guarded by the Cordilleras in the northwestern corner of Luzon.

CLIMATE : The province experience's dry season from November to April and wet season from May to October. Annual rainfall is 2,067.2 mm while average temperature is 26.8 degree celcius. The province is occasionally visited tropical cyclones and storms during the southwest monsoon season.

PEOPLE : Its ethnic population is overwhelmingly Ilocano. Unlike the rest of the region, however, the Roman Catholic Church does not predominate. The Aglipayan Church, Iglesia ni Cristo, and other Protestant groups have strong followings, as well as, animism and non-religiosity.

Paoay Church. Built of coral blocks and stucco-plastered bricks, the architecture is a unique combination of Gothic, Baroque and Oriental. Construction of the church was started in 1704 and completed in 1894. A few meters away is the coralstone belltower which served as observation post of the "Katipuneros" during the Philippine Revolution. Paoay Church is included in the UNESCO's World Heritage List.

Laoag City, Ilocos Norte, the city's name meaning "light" in the Ilocano dialect, is located in northwestern Luzon, Philippines. It lies on the north bank of the non-navigable Laoag River, a few miles above the latter's mouth. Laoag was first occupied by the Spaniards in 1592 and is now the largest city in northern Luzon.

Ilocos Norte is best known as the home province of former president Ferdinand Marcos. The province has many old Spanish Churches, the best known being St. William's Cathedral in the capital city, Laoag. There are a number of popular beaches in the province, including Currimao, La Paz, Seksi Beach, Pagudpud, the Saud Beach, and the Fort Ilocandia beach.

A fascinating feature of Laoag is the Tobacco Monopoly Monument, a memorial to the lifting of the tobacco monopoly by the Spanish government in 1881. The Sinking Belltower in Laoag is one of the tallest in the country, while the Acrobatic Belltower of Bacarra gains its name from the effects of earthquake damage.

Memories of the Marcos era abound the province, including Balay Ti Ili, the ancestral house of the Marcoses in Batac, which showcases the memorabilia of the late president. Malacanang of the North, on the shores of legendary Paoay Lake, is now a museum.

Cape Bojeador Lighthouse stands on a promontory in Burgos and is still operational. Paoay Church, built of coral blocks and stucco-plastered bricks, is a unique combination of Gothic, Baroque and Oriental architectural styles. The church is included in UNESCO's World Heritage List.

Tourists Info and Attractions:

  1. Sand Dunes - located in La Paz, Laoag City
  2. Tabacalera Museum
  3. Tobacco Monopoly Monument
  4. Laoag Museum
  5. Aurora Park - located at the heart of Laoag City
  6. Rizal Amusement Park
  7. Fort Ilocandia
  8. Sinking Belltower - located at the heart of Laoag City
  9. Raquiza Garden - located at the heart of Laoag City

Laoag mapLaoag map

FNE Travel || About Us || Contact Us || Laoag Hotels || 佬沃旅游信息 || Travel Info for other Philippines Cities